About us

About ALOA

WHAT IS ALOA ?

ALOA is the professional representative body for Adult Literacy Organisers (ALOs), managing adult literacy and basic education services throughout the Republic of Ireland as part of an integrated ETB Adult Education Service. The aims of the association include the promotion of a high quality adult literacy service and to secure recognition of the economic, social, and cultural context of adult literacy. The association represents the views of Adult Literacy Organisers and contributes to the development of Adult Basic Education policy through member representation on committees at national level.

The role of an ALO is multifaceted and involves supporting and managing students, volunteer and paid tutors, developing and implementing programmes, as well as managing finance, resources, premises and non-academic staff. The ALO is responsible for the quality of a diverse range of service provision and is also involved in drawing up policies with regard to Adult Basic Education at local level as part of integrated services within ETBs. The ALO ensures that the educational needs of the student are met; from initial consultation, to organising appropriate tuition and identifying progression options, to the point of exit. Importantly, by working with colleagues from across the FET sector and linking with internal and external stakeholders, the ALO continues to ensure that options are available for adult learners with literacy difficulties who wish to return to education.

The ALOA supports its members in the delivery of a professional Adult Literacy Service and had made a hugely significant contribution to adult literacy since its establishment in 1998. This contribution is built on the commitment of its members to provide a high quality and professional literacy service in the Republic of Ireland.

WITH ALOA YOU CAN

  • Vote on Key Issues
  • Support Each Other
  • Avail of Training
  • Get Involved Nationally

ALOA

Regions

ALOA Region Map

Donegal

Adele McElhinney – adelemcelhinney@donegaletb.ie
Dolores Mhic Géidigh – doloresmhicgeidigh@donegaletb.ie
Georgina Thompson – georginathompson@donegaletb.ie
Caroline McCabe – carolinemccabe@donegaletb.ie
Emilia Puszczynska – emiliapuszczynska@donegaletb.ie 
Aidan McCloskey – aidanmccloskey@donegaletb.ie

Mayo/Sligo/Leitrim

Cathy Powell – cathypowell@msletb.ie
Noelle Staunton – noellestaunton@msletb.ie
Rosario Cooney – rosariocooney@msletb.ie
Anne Bohan – annebohan@msletb.ie

Galway/Roscommon

Alison Jones – alison.jones@gretb.ie
Brendan Moriarty- Brendan.moriarty@gretb.ie
Neasa de Bhailis – Neasa.debhailis@gretb.ie
Sheila Donnellan – Sheila.donnellan@gretb.ie
Kevin Kelly –  kevin.kelly@gretb.ie
Teresa Gilligan – Teresa.gilligan@gretb.ie
Irene Greene – Irene.greene@gretb.ie

Tipperary

Mary Roche – mroche@tipperaryetb.ie

Ester Mackey – emackey@tipperaryetb.ie

Limerick/Clare

Loretta Hughes – loretta.hughes@lcetb.ie
Margot Walsh – margot.walsh@lcetb.ie
Maire Dempsey – maire.dempsey@lecetb.ie
Mary Flanagan – mary.flanagan@lcetb.ie
Mary Dunne – mary.dunne@lcetb.ie
Eithne Cunneen – eithne.cuneen@lcetb.ie
Lorraine Markham – lorraine.markham@lcetb.ie

Cavan/Monaghan

Carol Kelly – carolkelly@cmetb.ie
Michael Donohue – michaeldonohoe@cmetb.ie
Regina Clarke – reginaclarke@cmetb.ie

Longford/Westmeath

Frances Stephenson – fstephenson@lwetb.ie
Joan Slevin – AdultLiteracySouth@lwetb.ie

Louth/Meath

Maria Morgan – mmorgan@lmetb.ie

Wexford/Waterford

Emma Tobin Coles – emmatobin@wwetb.ie
Nicola McCarthy Hanlon – nicolamccarthyhanlon@wwetb.ie
Joann Power – joannpower@wwetb.ie

Kildare/Wicklow

Niamh Maguire – niamhmaguire@kwetb.ie
Annette Mangan – annettemangan@kwetb.ie
Imelda Carroll – imeldacarroll@kwetb.ie
Mary McCall – marymccall@kwetb.ie
Mary Faughnan – maryfaughnan@kwetb.ie

Laois/Offaly

Kilkenny/Carlow

Cork

Mary Ryder – mary.ryder@corketb.ie
Marian O’Mahony – Marian.OMahoney@corketb.ie
Bríd Murphy – brid.murphy@corketb.ie
Ciaran Lynch – ciaran.lynch@corketb.ie

Kerry

Maggie O’Sullivan Graham – kenmareabe@staff.kerryetb.ie
Deirdre Fitzgerald – caherciveenabe@staff.kerryetb.ie
Mary Concannon – Mary.concannon@staff.kerry.etb.ie
Maeve Tuohy – kesabemt@eircom.net

Mary Swaine – listowelabe@staff.kerryetb.ie and castleislandabe@staff.kerryetb.ie
Bill McConnell – bill.mcconnell@staff.kerryetb.ie

Dublin City

Siobhan Condron – siobhan.condron@aes.cdetb.ie
Mairin Kenny – mairin_kenny@eircom.net
Rose Brownen – kleared@eircom.net

Dublin/Dun Laoghaire

Ann McCann – annmccann@ddletb.ie

Some important facts about us

0

Members

0

Regions

0

ETB's

0

Learners

EXECUTIVE

MEMBERS

Nicola McCarthy-Hanlon
Adult Literacy Organiser
Rosario Cooney
Adult Literacy Organiser
Kevin Kelly
Adult Literacy Organiser
Aidan McCloskey
Adult Literacy Organiser
Ceinwen Fergus
Adult Literacy Organiser
Siobhan Condron
Adult Literacy Organiser
Niamh Maguire
Adult Literacy Organiser
Alison Jones
Alison Jones
Galway/Roscommon ETB, Vice Chair
Galway/Roscommon ETB Contact E-Mail: alison.jones@gretb.ie Phone: +353 (0)91 706 289
Ciaran Lynch - ALOA
Ciarán Lynch
Cork ETB
Cork ETB Contact E-Mail: info@corketb.ie Phone: +353 (0)21 4273377